What’s new?

Instagram Stories is having quite a day. The platform feature now has 250 million daily active users – a 50 million daily active user increase since April and a significant jump from Snapchat’s total 166 million daily active users.

“From new creative tools to location stories, we’ve been focused on making it easier to share any moment and uncover stories from the accounts and interests that matter most to you” Instagram told TechCrunch. “As a result, we are continuing to see strong growth both in the US and internationally.”

That leads to their newest update: live video replay. Starting today, Instagram is introducing the option for users to share a replay of their live videos to Instagram Stories. Read the full announcement here and our thoughts on how this could work for brands below.

Picture3 (1) Picture4 (1) 

How does it work?

When you finish broadcasting Live, you’ll be able to opt to “Share” at the bottom of the screen to add your Live video replay to Instagram Stories for 24 hours. Alternatively, you can tap the toggle and opt to “Discard” and the video will disappear as usual. Previously, Live videos would automatically discard after the end of the broadcast.

If you choose to replay, followers will see a play button under their Instagram Stories profile photo. The Live replay will show comments and likes from the original broadcast. Followers will be able to tap the right or left side of the screen to go forward or back 15 seconds, or tap “Send Message” to reply.

If you share multiple Live replays, followers will see arrows at the top to easily scroll between videos. When viewing your own replay, the number of viewers will include everyone who saw it live and in Stories. 

 Picture2 (1) Picture1 (1)

Here is a demo of the live replay function via TechCrunch’s Josh Constine:

 

What does this mean for brands?

This allows brands to amplify their live story to share the experience with even more of their audience. Fans who could not otherwise tune in will now be able to catch up on what they missed within a 24-hour period. Brands should consider using this feature if a live video will be relevant to followers outside of the Live broadcast window.